Melles

Melles, situated at 722 m of altitude, is a typical Pyrenean mountain village, at the entrance to the Val d’Aran. The Garonne and Ger rivers are the main water courses which run through the vilage.

A little bit of history…

At the Spanish border (Val d’Aran), Melles was once a small mining site (the opening of the mines of Melles goes back to the 17th century), which produced pyrite, galena: essentially sulphides of iron.

Called the mines of Pala Bidaou, these were only accessible and exploitable in summer because they are located at more than 1,500 meters of altitude. The ore had to come down by mule convoy to the facilities in the valley, which was quite dangerous. The forge that used snow melt water (mechanisms operated by mills, washing, etc.) also worked for only a few months a year.

Many of Melles inhabitants worked in these mines and it is therefore not uncommon to find a pick axe or a miner’s lamp in local attics… The mines were however quite small and they only lasted for a short time. Today the deposits are exhausted.

There are several mines near Melles:

  • Palancach or Mouras
  • Pont de Rouèu
  • Estagnous
  • Sixsoyer or “mail de cristal”
  • Uls
  • Coumasse

Many other mining sites, both French and Spanish, now abandoned, existed in this region of the Pyrenees.

In the Val d’Aran, in Bossost, not far from Melles, it is now possible to visit the Victoria mines. Did you know that it is to the mountain of La Pez, that Spanish owes the name of the pencil or “Lapiz”, because the early pencils were often made with lead.

It was at Melles that “Giva” and “Melba” the bears, were released on May 16 and June 6, 1996 and on May 2, 1997 the bear “Pyros” was released. These bears, of Slovenian origin, were released into the Melo forest the day after their capture.

On August 8, 2001, at the site of the release, a commemorative stone was inaugurated.

To see, to do

  • Cascade and tower of Sérial
  • Commemorative stone to the reintroduced bears
  • Blacksmiths
  • Pyrenean botanical garden: “A fleur de Montagne”, open from April to September
  • Walking trails: GR10 which starts from Labach de Melles (for the fit walker!) via the Pic du Crabère (2,629 m), the cabane d’Uls  annd the col d’Aoueran.

Hours

Monday, Tuesday :
14h00 - 18h00
Wednesday :
08h30 - 12h30
Thursday :
13h30 - 18h00
Friday :
13h30 - 17h00

Share this page

Other ideas

Argut-Dessous
Argut-Dessous
Bezins-Garraux
Bezins Garraux

News

Map

Photos

Downloads

Weather

Contact

Legal NoticeCreation : Pierre Lacroux

Melles

Melles, situé à 722 mètres d’altitude, est un village typique accroché au flanc des Pyrénées, à l’entrée du Val d’Aran. La Garonne, et le Ger sont les principaux cours d’eau qui traversent ce village.

Un peu d’histoire…

A la frontière espagnole (Val d’Aran), Melles était autrefois un petit site minier (la découverte des mines de Melles remonterait au 17° siècle), qui produisait de la blende, de la pyrite, de la galène : essentiellement des sulfures de fer.

Appelées mines de Pala Bidaou, celles-ci, n’étaient accessibles et exploitables qu’en été car situées à plus de 1500 mètres d’altitude. Le minerai était redescendu par convoi de mules, ce qui était assez dangereux, vers les installations. La forge qui utilisait les eaux de fonte de neige (mécanismes actionnés par des moulins, lavage…) ne tournait elle aussi que quelques mois par an.

Nombreux sont les habitants de Melles qui ont travaillé dans ces mines, et il n’est donc pas rare de retrouver dans les greniers, qui un pic, qui une lampe de mineur… Les mines ont cependant eu peu d’importance et ont vu leur exploitation vite s’arrêter. Aujourd’hui les gisements sont épuisés.

Il y a plusieurs mines prés de Melles :

  • Palancach ou Mouras
  • Pont de Rouèu
  • Estagnous
  • Sixsoyer ou « mail de cristal »
  • Uls
  • Coumasse

De nombreux autres sites miniers, aujourd’hui abandonnés, existaient dans cette région des Pyrénées, tant françaises, qu’espagnoles.

Dans le Val d’Aran, à Bossost, pas très loin de Melles, il est désormais possible de visiter les mines Victoria. Saviez-vous que c’est à la montagne de La Pez, que l’on doit le nom espagnol du crayon ou « Lapiz » car les crayons étaient souvent à mine de plomb à l’origine.

C’est à Melles que furent rendues à leur liberté le 16 mai et le 6 juin 1996 les ourses Giva et Melba, puis le 2 mai 1997 l’ours Pyros. Ces ours d’origine slovène ont été relâchés dans la forêt melloise le lendemain de leur capture.

Le 8 août 2001, sur le site du lâcher, une stèle a été inaugurée.

A voir, à faire

  • Cascade et tour du Sérial
  • Mémorial de l’Ours
  • Métier à ferrer
  • Jardin botanique pyrénéen : « A fleur de Montagne »,ouvert d’avril à septembre
  • Randonnées pédestres : GR10 au départ de Labach de Melles (pour randonneur entrainé) jusqu’au Pic du Crabère (2629m), par la cabane d’Uls, le col d’Aoueran.

Horaire(s)

Lundi, Mardi :
14h00 - 18h00
Mercredi :
08h30 - 12h30
Jeudi :
13h30 - 18h00
Vendredi :
13h30 - 17h00

Partager cette page

Autres idées

Agenda

Carte

Photos

Téléchargements

Météo

Contact

Mentions légalesCréation : Pierre Lacroux