Fos

Fos, is a border village, in the high valley of the Garonne nestled in a remarkable setting of greenery and calmness, ideal for a stroll and relaxation.

Hanging on the sunny slopes of the mountain side, its lower part extends to between the tumultuous bed of the Garonne and the road that leads towards Spain.

TO SEE TO DO

Strolling through the streets and the squares you will discover this mountain village with its clustered houses, dry stone walls and steeply sloping slate roofs lined with stairs called pénales. Its fountains, basins and wash-houses, with old wooden pillars that once upon a time were used for washing clothes and linens.

  • Not to be missed are the chapels of the Place du Marjas and of Saint Sebastien, built in the 19th century to protect the inhabitants against epidemics, which testify to the influence of religion on the population.
  • Don’t forget to visit the Porte du Castéras, former Roman oppidum, the watch tower and the feudal castle that overlooks the valley and seems to reign over it.
  • Likewise, the staircase with imperfectly adjusted slabs leading to the top of the village, the bridges that improved the means of communication across the valley, the old mill which has now become a Gite, where the villagers worked for generation after generation.
  • Characteristic of the old economy organised around agriculture and livestock, are imposing barns which sheltered between their walls the cattle and which have large ventilated attics, used to store reserves of forage for the animals.
  • Since the beginning of the century the landscape has changed greatly, crops of wheat, sarrazin and vines disappearing in favour of forest, as the mountain returns to a more wild habitat.

Young or old, alone or with your family, you can practice your favourite sports in a place where it is good to spend your holidays: tennis, cycling… Walks within reach of all towards the Plan d’Arem, by the banks of the river, the castéras and to the nearest villages of Melles and Arguts, will make you appreciate nature, with its streams, its cascades and a particularly abundant vegetation of green pastures and of undergrowth where the mushrooms grow in abundance.

Many other attractions are held throughout the year: brandon, lotto, méchoui, mounjetado, local festival…

Hours

Monday, Thursday :
14h00 - 17h30
Tuesday :
14h00 - 16h30
Friday :
14h00 - 17h00

Share this page

Other ideas

News

Map

Photos

Downloads

Weather

Contact

Legal NoticeCreation : Pierre Lacroux

Fos

 

 

Fos, village frontière, dans la haute vallée de la Garonne nous invite dans un cadre remarquable de verdure et de calme à la promenade et à la détente.

Accroché, en partie, au versant ensoleillé du massif montagneux, il s’étend sur la partie basse entre le lit tumultueux de la Garonne et la route qui nous conduit vers l’Espagne.

A voir, à faire

Tout au long des rues et en flânant sur les places vous découvrez ce village avec ses maisons groupées, aux murs en pierre sèche et aux toits en ardoises, à forte pente, bordés d’escaliers appelés « pénales ». Ses fontaines, ses bassins et ses lavoirs aux vieux piliers de bois qui servaient autrefois aux grandes lessives saisonnières sont, de nos jours, tout aussi appréciés.

  • A ne pas manquer aussi les chapelles de la Place du Marjas et de St Sébastien, bâties au siècle dernier pour protéger les habitants contre les épidémies témoignent de l’emprise de la religion sur la population.
  • Impossible d’oublier la Porte du Castéras, ancien oppidum romain, puis la tour de guêt et le château féodal qui surplombe la vallée et semble veiller sur elle.
  • De même, l’escalier aux dalles imparfaitement ajustées qui mène dans le haut du village, les ponts qui améliorèrent les moyens de communication, le vieux moulin aujourd’hui devenu gîte d’étape furent l’oeuvre des villageois génération après génération.
  • Caractéristique de l’ancienne économie organisée autour de l’agriculture et de l’élevage, des granges imposantes qui abritaient, entre leurs murs, le bétail et dans son grenier largement ventilé, les réserves de fourrage.
  • Depuis ce début de siècle le paysage a fortement changé, les cultures de blé, sarrazin, vigne disparaissant au profit de la forêt, la montagne retournant à une vie plus sauvage.

Jeune ou moins jeune, seul ou en famille, vous pourrez pratiquer votre sport favori dans un site où il fait bon vivre ses vacances : court de tennis, cyclisme… Des balades à la portée de tous vers le Plan d’Arem par le bord de la Garonne, le Castéras et les plus proches villages de Melles et des Arguts vous feront apprécier la nature avec ses ruisseaux, ses cascades et une végétation particulièrement abondante avec ses verts pâturages mais aussi ses sous-bois où les champignons poussent en abondance.

De nombreuses autres attractions ont lieu tout le long de l’année : brandon, loto, méchoui, mounjetado, fête locale…

 

Horaire(s)

Lundi, Jeudi :
14h00 - 17h30
Mardi :
14h00 - 16h30
Vendredi :
14h00 - 17h00

Partager cette page

Autres idées

Bachos
Bachos
Burgalays
Burgalays
Argut-Dessous
Argut-Dessous

Agenda

Carte

Photos

Téléchargements

Météo

Contact

Mentions légalesCréation : Pierre Lacroux